- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens when the cue ball goes into a pocket?
- Does a pool ball have to hit a wall?
- What are the rules for 3 Ball?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What counts as a scratch in pool?
- What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
- What happens if you don’t hit any balls in pool?
- What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball.
When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot..
What happens when the cue ball goes into a pocket?
Pocketing the Cue Ball When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. … Then the opponent will have to place the ball behind the head string and make contact with a ball beyond the head string.
Does a pool ball have to hit a wall?
A rail must be hit by either the cue ball or any other ball after the cue ball contacts the object ball. A pocketed ball counts as a rail. A sentence that should answer many questions is: “ANY ball must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact unless your ball is made.”
What are the rules for 3 Ball?
One ball is placed at the head of the triangle, and the other two balls are placed directly behind it. Each game of 3 Ball begins as soon as the cue ball crosses the head string during a break shot. When a foul occurs, one additional shot is assessed to the offending player’s score.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?
Should a player fail to pocket his designated group ball, he shall lose his turn. 3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What counts as a scratch in pool?
The Definition of A Scratch In Pool A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. For most of the game, these actions are considered standard fouls and result in ball-in-hand for the opponent either on the entire table or behind the head string.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What happens if you don’t hit any balls in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
An uncommonly required but “serious consequences” variant is that if one sinks all three object balls on the break but also scratches or otherwise fouls, this is an instant loss instead of a score of two, taking the form of the player receiving the maximum allowed score (see above), which is technically still tieable, …
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.