Question: When Can You Move The White Ball In Pool?

Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?

If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.

7..

Is not hitting a ball in Pool A scratch?

3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What ball goes on the dot in pool?

Line the apex (the first ball) up with the middle diamond on the side of the pool table. The center of the first ball should be in the middle of the table at one quarter of the length. Some tables have this spot marked with a small dot. Make sure that the balls are tightly packed together.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.

Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

What happens when you put white ball in pool?

When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul. … When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.

What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.

Can you hit the other persons ball in pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

Does scratching on the 8 ball mean you lose?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

When can you move the cue ball in pool?

Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.

Can you move the cue ball?

The cue ball may be adjusted by the player’s hand, cue, etc., so long as it remains in hand. … Additionally, if the shot fails to contact a legal object ball or fails to drive the cue ball over the head string, the shot is a foul and the opposing player has ball in hand according to the specific game rules.

What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?

“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.

Can you move the cue ball after a foul?

PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.

Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.

Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.