Will Unlocking Bootloader Erase Data?

Does unlocking bootloader erase data MI?

Factory resetting will wipe your Apps and apps data in MIUI as well as in any other device.

And if you turn the Erase stored content option before resetting, it will wipeyour internal storage too.

But, unlocking boot loader as well as rooting won’t wipeyour data in any way in Redmi Note 3..

Can we unlock bootloader without losing data?

However, there is another way to unlock bootloader without losing any data. Yes, this is possible thanks to XDA developer ondaczsk who discovered this trick. Well, as of now this process is working just fine on Xiaomi’s popular A series devices. This includes the Mi A1, A2, and Mi A2 Lite.

What happens if we unlock bootloader?

A device with a locked bootloader will only boot the operating system currently on it. You can’t install a custom operating system – the bootloader will refuse to load it. If your device’s bootloader is unlocked, you will see an unlocked padlock icon on the screen during the start of the boot process.

Does rooting your phone delete everything?

No, rooting does not erase your user data or internal storage. However you can face a boot loop (unlikely, but happens), It is always advisable that you backup your data to the cloud or your personal computer before you begin the rooting process.

Why does unlocking bootloader erase data?

Therefore, it makes sense to wipe all of this data during the unlocking procedure to ensure that there is no off-the-shelf “official” way of bypassing the sandboxing restrictions implemented by the Android operating system, which would thereby allow someone to steal personal data.