Question: What Happens If You Hit A Ball In And Scratch?

What happens if you hit the 8 ball before your ball?

If the shooting player intends to play safe by pocketing an obvious object ball, then prior to the shot, he must declare a “safety” to his opponent.

If this is NOT done, and one of the shooter’s object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again..

Do you lose if you scratch on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

Do you take a ball out if you scratch?

the cue ball or any object ball is driven (jumped) off the table, coming to rest off the playing surface (e.g., on the floor). … A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot.

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball first?

8-ball rules require that once a group is assigned to a player — by legally pocketing a ball after the break (in most rule sets) — then hitting any other ball first except your assigned group is a foul. … The penalty for that foul, everywhere that I’ve seen, is ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.

Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?

8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).

What does 3 balled mean?

: relating to or being a golf match in which three players compete against one another with each playing a single ball.

What happens if you scratch and hit the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?

An uncommonly required but “serious consequences” variant is that if one sinks all three object balls on the break but also scratches or otherwise fouls, this is an instant loss instead of a score of two, taking the form of the player receiving the maximum allowed score (see above), which is technically still tieable, …

What happens if you miss the 8 ball?

When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.

Do you have to call the pocket in 9 ball?

If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot, he remains at the table for another shot, and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9-ball. … Players are not required to call any shot.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?

Should a player fail to pocket his designated group ball, he shall lose his turn. 3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.