- Does a ball have to hit the cushion in snooker?
- What ball goes on the spot in Pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
- Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
- Does a ball have to hit a rail in pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
- Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
- Is it possible to sink every ball on the break?
Does a ball have to hit the cushion in snooker?
You just have to hit the correct ball first.
The break shot has no extra rules.
No specific rule applies to the opening shot of a frame, nor is there anything requiring cushions to be hit.
There is a rule about cushions in the section for Shoot-out Snooker, but this variant is rarely played..
What ball goes on the spot in Pool?
apex ballWhen racking the balls a triangle must be used, and the apex ball is to be spotted on the foot spot. All the balls must be lined up behind the apex ball and pressed together so that they all have contact with each other. Legal shots require that the cue ball be struck only with the cue tip.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
Currently voted the best answer. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
Does a ball have to hit a rail in pool?
Be especially careful when picking up or placing the cue ball in a tight spot. c. Failure to hit a rail after contact. A sentence that should answer many questions is: “Any ball (including the cue ball) must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact.” A pocketed ball counts as a rail.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
if you pot the white ball ” in off ” the black ball your opponent has an extra shot .
Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Is it possible to sink every ball on the break?
There was a study done many years ago of 10,000 breaks by a conditioned environment in the game of nine-ball. And a ball went in on the break about once every three racks. So, Rossman says sinking even one ball isn’t a sure thing—even for the pros. If you’ve racked up some science questions, call us at 1-800-WHY-ISIT.